Waco DWI Attorney - Driving While Intoxicated

Our DWI attorney is familiar with Texas DWI laws and experienced in defending drunk driving cases. All DWI attorneys must be equipped to handle the complicated legal and scientific nature of most DWI charges and cases. Our knowledgeable DWI legal defense team can identify police mistakes, unreliable breath, blood, and urine tests, and other legal issues that often make the difference between successful and unsuccessful results for those arrested for DWI.

Arrested For DWI Charge - Texas DWI Laws

A DWI charge applies to both minors and adults.  Although a DUI charge applies only to minors under the age of 21, anyone can receive a DWI charge, regardless of your age.

Hiring a DWI defense attorney as soon as possible is very important for ensuring your case doesn’t get out of hand. DWI laws were written to cover the various instances when people are arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI), or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. DWI attorneys from a DWI law firm can explain that a DWI arrest and conviction usually leads to confiscation of a driver’s license, heavy fines, big insurance rate escalations, and sometimes time in jail. Our skilled DWI attorney is prepared to provide explanations about the charges stemming from operating a motor vehicle after the consumption of alcohol or drugs.

Difference Between DWI & DUI

Many people do not know the difference between DWI and DUI in Texas.  In Texas, a DUI is reserved for minors, under the age of 21.  Unlike DWI, you may be charged with a DUI if you are under 21 years of age and have ANY detectable amount of alcohol in your system while operating a motor vehicle.  That means that a police officer does not have to give you a field sobriety test, a breathalyzer or a blood test to arrest and charge you with DUI.  The police officer only has to claim that you were operating a motor vehicle with a detectable amount of alcohol.  If you are under 21 years old, a police officer may merely smell alcohol on your breath to arrest your for DUI.  Although a person 21 years of age or older cannot be charged with DUI, a person under 21 years old MAY be charged with DUI or the more severe charge of DWI.  Generally, if you are a minor and you seem intoxicated or if you do in fact have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or more, then you will likely be charged with DWI rather than DUI.

Contact Our DWI Law Firm

In the eyes of the law, DWI cases are very serious. As a consequence the DWI laws were written to reflect that viewpoint. If you’re facing these charges, you must have knowledgeable DWI attorneys to take the case and provide defense. Contact us for a consultation as soon as possible. In our DWI law firm we have DWI defense attorney ready to assist you through the many exhaustive stages of the process.  Contact a DWI attorney who is eager to provide the assistance you require.  

Contact McDermed Law Firm TODAY Online or at 254-652-3401 (Waco Office).

Address:3201 Franklin Avenue, Suite 3 Waco, Texas 76710 Phone:254-652-3401 Fax:254-776-6607